Stapleford Granary

Event description

Saturday 6 April 2019 7.30pm £15/£8 concessions


Pre-concert talk with Philip Cashian and John Woolrich at 6.45pm – admission free to ticket holders

Living Notes

with the Benyounes Quartet

Living Notes is a new concert series at Stapleford Granary in which audience, composers and performers meet for an evening of thought-provoking and imaginative dialogue in words and music.

'The polish of the Benyounes Quartet was new... they already seem seasoned veterans with their tight ensemble and confident projecton.'  - The Times

Currently celebrating its 10th anniversary, the Benyounes Quartet has forged a reputation for fresh, vivid performances and interpretations of refinement and integrity. Recipients of the Royal Philharmonic Society’s Julius Isserlis Scholarship, the quartet’s international accolades include 2nd prize at both the 2014 Orlando International String Quartet Competition and the International Sandor Vegh String Quartet Competition in Budapest.

The Benyounes Quartet has established a presence at major venues including Vienna Konzerthaus, Wigmore Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, Purcell Room and Manchester’s Bridgewater Hall and at festivals such as Budapest Spring, Quatuors a Bordeaux, Verbier, Aix-en-Provence, Aldeburgh and West Cork Chamber Music. The quartet has had the pleasure to play chamber music with internationally renowned artists including Julian Bliss, Philip Higham, Jeremy Young, Navarra quartet, Gareth Hulse, Ben Johnson and Philippe Bernold. Since 2015 the Benyounes have taken over the Artistic Directorship of Alfriston Summer Music, a highly successful festival that is in its 13th year, set in the heart of the South Downs.

The Quartet has an ongoing commitment to new music and to works by neglected women composers of the past.

Throughout their career they have championed contemporary works by both established and emerging composers and, in recent years, have premiered new works by Philip Cashian, Simon Bainbridge and Poul Ruders. In the 2018/19 season they are thrilled to be working closely with esteemed British composer John Woolrich on a new project ‘Four to One’.

Zara Benyounes - violin

Emily Holland - violin

Sara Roberts - viola

Kim Vaughan - cello


Bach/Birtwistle                  Three Fugues from The Art of Fugue      

Stravinsky                  Three Pieces for String Quartet                                      

Philip Cashian                  Samain                                     

John Woolrich                  Villanesca (from A Book of Inventions)



Janacek                                    String Quartet No. 2 ‘Intimate Letters’