Stapleford Granary

Event description


pre-concert talk and drinks 18.30    

Continuing its exploration of English chamber repertoire, the Goldfield Ensemble presents a program of music from well-loved composers Gerald Finzi and Herbert Howells alongside lesser-known works by William Alwyn and Herbert Sumsion.

Alwyn’s piano quartet is striking in its rhythmic invention and string writing which recalls Debussy and Ravel. Sumsion’s compositional style has an elegant and distinctive voice and the composer’s delightful late piano trio will be performed alongside Mozart’s enormously popular Kegelstatt Trio.

The Goldfield Ensemble acknowledges the support of the Finzi trust & the William Alwyn Foundation.

Artist/speaker: The Goldfield Ensemble

Further info

ALWYN      Rhapsody for piano quartet 1938
MOZART    Kegelstatt Trio K498 1786
O'NEILL     Piano Trio
FINZI          Five Bagatelles op23 1940
HOWELLS    Piano Quartet in A minor op21 1916