Stapleford Granary

Event description


pre concert talk and drinks 18.30


The Goldfield Ensemble launches its celebration of English chamber music, an exploration of wonderful repertoire from the familiar to the unknown, from the nurtured to the neglected.

The Clarinet Quintet by Arthur Bliss is an emotive attempt to exorcise the spectre of the First World War and contrasts with Bridge’s prewar Piano Quintet. William Alwyn, better known as a composer of film scores (including Carol Reed’s ‘Odd Man Out’), was a fine writer of chamber music, and Mozart’s piano quintet is a fascinating example of the composer’s delight in that ‘new fangled’ instrument.

The Goldfield Ensemble acknowledges the support of the Bliss Trust & the William Alwyn Foundation.


Artist/speaker: The Goldfield Ensemble

Further info

MOZART Piano Quartet in Eb K493 1786

BLISS Clarinet Quintet op50 1932

ALWYN String Trio 1959

BRIDGE Piano Quintet in D Minor 1912

The Goldfield Ensemble is Stapleford Granary’s resident ensemble in 2014