Stapleford Granary

Event description

Sunday 29 November  | 12:00 (Coffee from 11:00) | £12 | £8 under 16


by Igor Stravinsky 

performed by the Principal players of the

East Anglian Chamber Orchestra

conductor Hugh Molloy 


The East Anglian Chamber Orchestra's principal players present the full version of Igor Stravinsky's Soldier's Tale with Narrator, Actors and Dancer.

L'Histoire du soldat (The Soldier's Tale) is a theatrical work "to be read, played, and danced"  by three actors and one or several dancers, accompanied by a septet of instruments. Conceived by Igor Stravinsky and Swiss writer C.F.Ramuz, the piece was based on a Russian folk tale drawn from the collection of  Alexander Afanasyev called The Runaway Soldier and the Devil.

The libretto relates the parable of a soldier who trades his fiddle to the devil in return for unlimited economic gain. The music is scored for a septet  of violin, double bass, clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, trombone and percussion and the story is told by three actors: the soldier, the devil, and a narrator, who also takes on the roles of minor characters. A dancer plays the non-speaking role of the princess, and there may also be additional ensemble dancers.