Stapleford Granary

Event description

Friday 26 October 2018        £15/£8 under 16

Living Notes

with The Composers Ensemble

’Europe’s most innovative new music group’


Introduced by Donald Macleod 

Composer of the Week presenter, BBC Radio 3 


Living Notes is a new concert series at Stapleford Granary in which audience, composers and performers meet for an evening of thought-provoking and imaginative dialogue in words and music.

MEET THE COMPOSER - join Radio 3’s Donald Macleod for an evening of music and conversation with four of today’s leading composers: Helen Grime, Richard Causton, Huw Watkins and John Woolrich.

Helen Grime is ‘one of the most striking compositional voices to emerge in British classical music in the 21st century’. The very first music that Sir Simon Rattle conducted as Music Director of the London Symphony Orchestra was written by Helen.

Huw Watkins has also had a close relationship with the LSO: he was commissioned to compose a work to celebrate the orchestra’s centenary. Huw is also a fine pianist: ‘What an amazing musician Watkins is, this unfailingly dependable and musical pianist who seems to be everywhere. If he caught a cold most of Britain’s summer festival season would collapse.’ (Daily Telegraph)

One of the UK's leading composers, John Woolrich has long been a major force in British musical life, not just through his distinctive and versatile compositional voice but as a distinguished programmer, festival director and teacher.  

Richard Causton, who is a Fellow of King’s College Cambridge, has been described as 'one of the most courageous and uncompromising artists working today'. 

Their music will be played by the Composers Ensemble, ’Europe’s most innovative new music group’. It has given over two hundred first performances of music by the widest range of composers, from Elvis Costello to Sir Harrison Birtwistle. It has performed at most major British music festivals, including Aldeburgh, Edinburgh and the Proms, and appeared at European concert halls from Paris to Albania.


Rakhvinder Singh - violin

Adrian Bradbury - cello

Huw Watkins - piano


Huw Watkins                 String Trio                                     

Helen Grime                    Three Whistler Miniatures          


John Woolrich                  Adagissimo

John Woolrich                  Sestina                                 


Richard Causton                 Seven States of Rain                    

Richard Causton              Night Piece (after Mozart)             

Richard Causton                 De Profundis