Stapleford Granary

Event description

Saturday 23 February 2019, 7.30pm  £15/£5 students and under 16

Living Notes 

Opus Oneswith The University of Cambridge New Music Ensemble, conducted by Naomi Woo

Introduced by Donald Macleod 

Composer of the Week presenter, BBC Radio 3 


Living Notes is a new concert series at Stapleford Granary in which audience, composers and performers meet for an evening of thought-provoking and imaginative dialogue in words and music.

Hosted by Radio 3’s Donald Macleod, OPUS ONES focusses on the lightbulb moment in a composer's early development when she or he arrives on the scene with that crucial first piece, or opus 1. This evening of music and conversation features works by Julian Anderson ('amongst the most talented composers of his generation'), Richard Causton ('one of the most courageous and uncompromising artists we have') and Joy Lisney, a cellist and composer at the beginning of her career whose music is refined and exquisitely crafted. The programme is completed by Benjamin Britten's Sinfonietta op.1, composed when he was just 18 years old.


Richard Causton                  Notturno

Julian Anderson                  The Bearded Lady


Julian Anderson                  Van Gogh Blue


Joy Lisney                  New Work (world première) 

Benjamin Britten                  Sinfonietta op.1